2005 Scholarship Winners with
Broadcast Pioneers' President Frank Hogan (far left) and
Broadcast Pioneers' Chairman Bill "Wee Willie" Webber (back row)
Bala Golf Club, Philadelphia
April 20, 2005

The Broadcast Pioneers of Philadelphia is pleased to announce the winners in our annual scholarship competition for area college students majoring in communications. The scholarships are for students who will be either a junior or senior in academic year 2005-06. One thousand dollar scholarships was presented to all six of our winners at our April luncheon.

2005's winners were:

Matt DeLucia of LaSalle University, GP 3.48
Currently a producer for LaSalle's cable TV station
Wants to be a broadcast journalist

Amie Haverluk of Elizabethtown College, GPA 3.6
Worked as an overnight editor/producer for WGAL-TV
Goal is to work in TV production

Steve Heald of Rowan University, GP 3.6
Did a stretch at Comcast Sportsnet
Wants to become a sports broadcaster

Cassandra Kramer of Temple University,
GPA 3.46
Reporter for WRTI-FM & intern at WPHL-TV
Goal is to anchor or report for a top 10 TV market

Benjamin Rosehart of LaSalle Univeristy, GPA 3.33
Served as Executive Producer at LaSalle's cable TV station
Would like to do sports journalism & broadcasting

Elizabeth Watts of Rowan University, GPA 3.52
Public Affairs Director for WGLS Radio
Wishes to pursue a career in broadcasting

Congrats to all our winners! They received their scholarship grants from the Broadcast Pioneers of Philadelphia at our Wednesday, April 20th luncheon.

(Left to right) Jan Beaty, Scholarship Winner Elizabeth Watts
and Broadcast Pioneers' President Frank J. Hogan
at the Bala Golf Club
Wednesday, May 18, 2005

During our Wednesday, May 18, 2005 luncheon, Jan Beaty, wife of the John Beaty, a long-time member of the Broadcast Pioneers of Philadelphia was present. When John passed away, Jan asked in lieu of flowers, that people donate to the Broadcast Pioneers' Scholarship fund. Because of that, we raised enough funds to award a $1,000 scholarship in honor of John Beaty to Elizabeth Watts of Rowan University.

From the official archives of the Broadcast Pioneers of Philadelphia
© 2009, Broadcast Pioneers of Philadelphia
All Rights Reserved

The e-mail address of the Broadcast Pioneers of Philadelphia is pioneers@broadcastpioneers.com