Caroline Welch, Channel 6's Vice-President of Programming (3rd from left)
with our five scholarship winners
Wednesday, April 19, 2006

The Broadcast Pioneers of Philadelphia awarded five $1,500 scholarships to outstanding undergraduate students studying radio, TV and film production. Awards are given to college juniors and seniors who demonstrate academic excellence and professional potential.

Winners received their award during our April luncheon and these students and their parents got to meet many of our members who have worked decades in the business.

The luncheon was on Wednesday, April 19, 2006 at the Bala Golf Club. Our speaker was Caroline Welch, Vice-President of Programming for WPVI, Channel 6, here in Philadelphia.

Our winners were:

Brandon Davidow from LaSalle University
George Hunsicker from Rowan University
Anthony Scafide from Temple University
Meredith Sullivan from the University of Delaware
Laura Van De Pette from Cabrini College

From the official archives of the Broadcast Pioneers of Philadelphia
© 2006, Broadcast Pioneers of Philadelphia
All Rights Reserved

The e-mail address of the Broadcast Pioneers of Philadelphia is