A Spring Potpourri of Broadcasting!
What a Great Luncheon!

Broadcast Pioneers Member
Bob Backman

Broadcast Pioneers Member
Steve Highsmith

Broadcast Pioneers Member
Elliot Abrams

In April, it was a potpourri of broadcasting. We had three exciting speakers for you this month. On the big show, we had three members of the Broadcast Pioneers.

First was Bob Backman, former VP and General Manager of Channel 61 here in Philadelphia and he's the current owner of WRDE-TV, Rehoboth Beach, Delaware.

Next was Steve Highsmith, currently the Director of Community Relations for Philadelphia's WPHL-TV. He's also the host of "In Focus" & "NBC 10 @ Issue."

Finally was Elliot Abrams. He's the Senior Vice-President and Chief Forecaster for AccuWeather and can be heard daily doing the weather on KYW Newradio, 1060.

This was also the luncheon where we award our seventeen $1,000 scholarships to area college students.

Plus, Member Carter Merbreier (also known as Captain Noah) was in attendance andsaid a few words.

It all took place on Wednesday, April 18th at the beautiful and historic Bala Golf Club, 2200 Belmont Avenue (across the street from the State Police) in the Wynnefield section of Philadelphia. Only minutes away from Channels 6, 10 and 17 and the radio stations in Bala Cynwyd.


Watch the students accept their scholarships!

Watch our Three Speakers!

Pictures taken by Broadcast Pioneers President Jerry Klein

Here's 54 Photos!

These copyrighted images are protected under US Copyright.
Any usage without the express, written permission of
the copyright holder is strictly prohibited!
Usage does NOT fall under "Fair Use" of copyright laws!

Our seventeen scholarship winners were (in alphabetical order):

Jennifer Alecci, Muhlenberg College
Melissa Anderson-McDonald, Temple University
Analis Barrood, Drexel University
Michael Busza, Temple University
Phillip Carroll, Temple University
Jessica Chung, University of Pennsylvania
Darragh Friedman, Temple University
Katheryn Kennedy, LaSalle University
Russell Lash, Temple University
Sarah Lazar, University of Delaware
Ashley Lewis, Temple University
Kara Lieff, Temple University
Allison Lips, Rowan University
Jamie Lynn Marino, Villanova University
Alexandra Paulin, Drexel University
Scott Scheinberg, University of Delaware
Becki Steinberg, University of Pennsylvania

These scholarships are made possible through our scholarship underwriters for this year. Member Johnny B. Hall leads the pack with underwriting four scholarships. Three scholarships are in the memory of member Pat Merbreier (also known as Mrs. Noah). Two scholarships are underwritten by Ira and Robin Adelman and her dad, member Leon Love. Member Esther Kurtz was underwritten a scholarship in the memory of her late husband, member David Kurtz, founder of B-101 Radio. Member Sylvia Kauders has underwritten one for this year and it's part of a five-year scholarship grant. Member Harry Hurley through the proceeds of his annual Harry Hurley Charity Golf Tournament has underwritten a scholarship. The additional ones are funded by people who have donated to our scholarship fund and from the funds raised at our annual banquet this past November.

From the official archives of the Broadcast Pioneers of Philadelphia
Audio orginally donated by Broadcast Pioneers members Dave Michaels & Bill Gellhaus
Video courtesy of MetraMedia Studios and Broadcast Pioneers member Brad Seecof
© 2012, Broadcast Pioneers of Philadelphia
All Rights Reserved

The e-mail address of the Broadcast Pioneers of Philadelphia is pioneers@broadcastpioneers.com